LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 May 6 2011

bskaram

What to do next?

Hello everyone, it's been a long time since I have visited the forums, because I was hooked up on school work and a little project I was working on. And this is my first post in this section!
A brief something about me; I'm a 16 year old Secondary 2 student, getting ready for my SAT on June 4. My first choice of major is Mechanical Engineering at AUB, and I will be submitting at the end of this year.
But last month I volunteered for entering a Web Design contest at the LAU annual science fair, and was in it just for fun. I've never before thought of doing something like this, but found it interesting to join! I had only taken a few html basic courses at school before, but i have no background at designing or anything. Anyway, I started watching some tutorials on the web, learned a little more about html, css, embedding objects and other stuff. So I created and designed a website for my school, it was pretty basic, but had a nice interactive interface, with some flash plugins embedded. I wasn't expecting at all to win, and thought it would just be another new experience. Surprisingly, I won second place in the contest ($150), and I'm really happy about it, since I worked by myself, and didn't ask for much help. As a result, I have developed a new interest in html coding and web design, and I'm really excited to advance in this field.
So I decided to come to this forum to take your advice. Any tips on what I should do next, where to get started, and how to move up in experience. I would really like to go further in this, and am looking forward to working as a web coder, and maybe making some extra money for college along the way!
Thank you forum.

#2 May 6 2011

rami

Re: What to do next?

html>css>javascript>(jquery>)php/mysql>frameworks
add linux somewhere

http://w3schools.com/ is a good place to start