LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 August 22 2008

ellobeirut

Best Unlimited Service? Please Help

Hello all, been reading the forums and I am new to the country but my my am I glad to be here!  The only concern I have is establishing a solid, fast, reliable internet service.  Been going site to site, started with ogero and mobi, moved on to terra, IDM, cyberia and I am really unsure.

One thing that is going to be necessary is unlimited nightly traffic.  I am from the US and have a slingbox hooked to my tv at home and plan to watch a lot of tv over the internet between the hours of 11 and 3.  I also intend on getting on xbox live with my 360.

I am in the bir hassan area and I would just like to know what your thoughts are on the best service for me.  I am planning on going with the 512k connection but only if the double speed from 8-8 is legitimate.  So that's my first question, second, what do you guys think is the most reliable service at this point? (consistent speed 512+, no lag etc.)

Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance.

#2 August 22 2008

nuclearcat

Re: Best Unlimited Service? Please Help

Regarding TV and timing, from 11 till 0 (and even till 1 on some ISP) it is "peak" time. I am almost sure, there is no ISP who is willing to provide for end-user such bandwidth(live video), if it is unlimited, except it is real commercial price.

Real commercial price for backbone in Lebanon, you cannot find lower than $1600/Mbit.
The only point i can guide you - some startups, who have free bandwidth still.

#3 August 22 2008

ellobeirut

I understand it is peak time however it is still unlimited traffic after 11 on most ISPs right?  Also, if I have 512k plus the double speed at that time what should I anticipate my connection speed to be?

Thanks for your help cat

#4 August 22 2008

nuclearcat