LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 May 10 2006

mir

Oracle VS MSSQL Server

Hello Guys,

i was chatting with KingRhye on MSN. we were talking about the differences between oracle and MSSQLServer (eh.shu hal geeks.. 3abokrit il sobo7 heik conv )

KingRhye says that they are both the same on Performance and close competitors.
and that They're at the same level and both are designed to handle the same load/capacities.

Well i am not an Oracle Expert.. i barely worked couple of hours in my uni lab with oracle.
I am not an MSSQL Server expert too.

but i would like to find out the truth.how much is really the difference? what are the weak points and strong points for each.

the microsoft and oracle sites comparaison are a joke and marketing bullshit
i quote from microsoft website:
"Oracle is years behind Microsoft and other companies on security,"
"I think Oracle is an amateur when it comes to security right now."

I will also ask my oracle friends about the differences.. w i will post their replies.
maybe i can come up with a good conclusion

Thank you for your feedback min halla2, really appreciate it
w don't make it a topic for flaming

#2 May 10 2006

KingRhye

Re: Oracle VS MSSQL Server

I speak the truth.. don't you believe me ?

#3 May 10 2006

rolf

You're an SQL junkie ;)

#4 May 10 2006

teodorgeorgiev

Oracle (till 8) was a great product. Very powerful. Indeed, all (90%) large telecoms (proper line and mobile) use Oracle as a database. One of the most popular billing software packages (used by PTTs, mobile operators, large Internet operators and etc) ---> MIND CTI uses Oracle.

In my personal opinion (I am not a DBA or something) Oracle was the superior product till version 8. In 9/9i they shitted too much and MS-SQL 2000 is now a better product. But in matter of stability and performance, Oracle under Solaris (with SUN Sparc) puts MS-SQL to its knees.