LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 September 11 2006

CSGeek

Security Coding

Hai.
I was wondering if any of you guys is aware of the different types of security breaches that may result from insecure programming in C such as Buffer Overflows/Heap Overflows/Format Strings and practise writing *NIX exploits as a hobby or even someone interested in reverse engineering/asm please let me know... Maybe we could exchange some information regarding this specific field of computing

Last edited by CSGeek (September 11 2006)

#2 September 11 2006

samer
Admin

Re: Security Coding

I'm sure a lot of us are interested, so feel free to post whatever topic regarding these issues.

#3 September 11 2006

Padre

how does this fall under "CS" in your name ?
im not an expert in the feild , but i know lots of them.
i've reversed some progs and written some stack overflows exploit, no heap tho. i did some format string too :)
now lets see what you need ...and more specifically .... WHY you need it

#4 September 11 2006

teodorgeorgiev

Padre, I am even worse by you. I am an expert in the field - know everything, but "can nothing" of it :-D

CSGeek, spit it out directly - which ISP do you want to hack ?

Just to let you know that now the GCC/G++ has very good Buffer/Stack Overflows/Heap Overflows protection by itself, so they are leaving much less chance to the unexperienced UNIX C socket programmer to write an insecure program :) So to say... ...

And you will find maximum 2 people here, who can do UNIX C socket programming... :)
What to talk about Assembly under Linux :)

#5 September 11 2006

Padre

nice Teo !!

CSGeek, spit it out directly - which ISP do you want to hack ?

althought im not an expert in hacking, but hacking into lebanese ISP's was a walk in the park, couple of years back i had a list of *ALL* accounts for the three major ISP's in lebanon...along with pretty much "other things"  (not cyberia tho :'()