LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 August 29 2011

Metalloy

Best ROMs for Samsung Galaxy S2

Hey there

I am thinking of rooting my SGS2 and the reasons behind it are:
1- well I am curious about how beneficial rooting will be.
2- there are some apps on android market for using wii controller(wiimote) on your android phone but these are not compatible with neither the galaxy family nor with htc handsets because of software modifications that honestly I didnt understand:P.

So I was wondering if any of you has rooted his SGS 2? if yes do you recommend any particular procedure for rooting? any particular rom and why? bare in mind that I am not a progammer and I have never done this before.

thanks for your time :)

#2 August 29 2011

babum

Re: Best ROMs for Samsung Galaxy S2

I used two roms cm7 and litenin rom. Stick with cm7 it seems to be better though it is still a beta so there are a few minor bugs. try checking xda forum, they have really good info about the galaxy s2

#3 August 29 2011

Metalloy

thanks for your comment babum:)

#4 August 30 2011

babum

no problem man.

#5 September 18 2011

Neoxter

my build number is gingerbread.xwkf3, android 2.3.3 i want to upgrade to 2.3.4 what's the latest and best build number?

#6 September 19 2011

djunited

i also want to upgrade to 2.3.4.

Baseband version: I9100XXKG1

Build number: GINGERBREAD.ZSKG2

samsung keis says i have the latest version.

i have found all the available firmware official and nonofficial here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr … ?t=1075278

Last edited by djunited (September 19 2011)

#7 September 19 2011

djunited

so i just tried rooting my device but that failed.

i followed this guide: http://samsunggalaxys2review.org/root-y … heres-how/

it says to select an insecure kernel that is closest to your firmware, so i opted to choose this:

GT-I9100M_MKG2_insecure from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr … ?t=1101671.