LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 March 31 2020

RandomMemory

What happens if I get satellite internet in Lebanon?

I am on the verge of losing my remote job/sanity as well. I am paying 120$ a month for internet for a promised 16mbps, I am getting absolutely nothing right now. 2mbps on speedtest, They blocked discord which I use for communication, 1.1.1.1 and on top of that they blocked some VPNs and throttled traffic and made the internet disconnect if you hit above 3-4mbps speeds. Cannot make use of my double night speeds either. I have rotated 6 ISPs in the last 5 years all equally bad. I am seriously thinking of getting sat internet. 3G is so expensive for my needs so it's out of the question, i work in the video streaming industry and 3G bandwidth isn't gonna be enough for me. I'd appreciate any help on this topic. I know there is a pandemic and that speeds are degrading but this unacceptable.

Last edited by RandomMemory (March 31 2020)

#2 March 31 2020

Kareem

Re: What happens if I get satellite internet in Lebanon?

RandomMemory wrote:

I am on the verge of losing my remote job/sanity as well. I am paying 120$ a month for internet for a promised 16mbps, I am getting absolutely nothing right now. 2mbps on speedtest, They blocked discord which I use for communication, 1.1.1.1 and on top of that they blocked some VPNs and throttled traffic and made the internet disconnect if you hit above 3-4mbps speeds. Cannot make use of my double night speeds either. I have rotated 6 ISPs in the last 5 years all equally bad. I am seriously thinking of getting sat internet. 3G is so expensive for my needs so it's out of the question, i work in the video streaming industry and 3G bandwidth isn't gonna be enough for me. I'd appreciate any help on this topic. I know there is a pandemic and that speeds are degrading but this unacceptable.

Who's your ISP? Everything working fine on Ogero networks.

#3 March 31 2020

RandomMemory