LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 May 19 2015

ali.ba

Developers should be robots in Lebanon?

While browsing the jobs posted by Lebanese companies on LinkedIn, I have noticed some issues that I would like to share with you, and get to know your opinion about it.

1- They simply copy and paste the job requirements from each other, you read the same thing over and over. (Unprofessional)
2- They want you to be the one developer who can do the work of 3 developers, you must know this, and this, and this, and this, and this, and that, and this... totally unrelated stuff. (they like to be cheap, "YES" 3 bi 1)
3- They want you to be good in convincing clients. (I'm not a salesman, I'm a developer, my responsibility is not to deal with clients, I deal with code)
4- They want you to be able to work extra hours and on weekends. (WTF? this is the curse of developers in Lebanon, no other country has this, no other job has this, as long as you have your laptop with you, even in toilet, you must code)
5- They talk to you as if they are the rich King who has power and you are the poor Slave who needs money, from my humble experience, good developers are difficult to find (I'm not one), and companies are dying to find them, and even if they find them, they aren't good at keeping them.
6- My personal opinion: Lebanese companies sucks, poor clients, poor products, poor management and poor sense of programming.

What do you think?

#2 May 19 2015

Johnaudi

Re: Developers should be robots in Lebanon?

I can't say the same about all of them. But the majority is quite true.

But I assume some companies does not restrict you in their own field here, so freelancing is available, which is nice.

#3 May 19 2015

rolf

Have had my share of bad experiences with lebanese companies. In fact nothing but that.
I am sure there are some decent or at least half decent companies out there, maybe I was particularly unlucky.