LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 December 29 2014

amkahal

[Android] Breaking news application

Dears,

a client demands a breaking news app like LBCI, elnashra.... i'm not very familiar with android, i can make simple apps but not too professional. i'm a programmer, so in theory, i can make the app whenever the platform is, with some time and research.

i saw many sites on internet that convert a wordpress site to a native android app, so do you think that this is the simplest solution, can i make a fully working app using conversion from wordpress, don't forget the alerts for breaking news, and all features that exist in Lebanese news apps.

please if anybody has experience with such apps, please advice me.

Thank you.

#2 December 29 2014

NuclearVision

Re: [Android] Breaking news application

Maybe more info about demand? He wants a specific site or an app to fetch news from many sites?

#3 December 29 2014

user

What does wordpress have to do with this? Wordpress is bad enough in its normal usage/state, don't shove it into android.

If you know web development, you can just use cordova for android, it will allow you to write the program in html/javascript and you don't have to know much about android or java. You have to build an api on the server side, and have the app get the info from it. For the push notification use google cloud messaging (gcm) It will allow you to send push notifications to the devices.

If you don't know what an api is this project is way over your head.

Also, I have the same questions as the user above me.

#4 December 29 2014

amkahal

thanks for your replies.

he wants to post his own news, categorized by breaking news, political, ... and some features like update interval, customize which news to receive only.

so, my new question is what is the shortest way to start, since he didn't want a big app, just an app to display news.

#5 December 29 2014

nosense