LebGeeks

A community for technology geeks in Lebanon.

You are not logged in.

#1 September 7 2011

Chup

HTML knowledge for SEO

Hey There,
Just thought you could help me with a little something.
I work as a webmaster for a certain rather major company.
My job is administering their website; to keep it up-to-date( products infos,  pricing, availability ), basically being the medium between online customers and the company.
My main job is SEO ( Search Engine Optimization ), been working on that for the past 7 months and i've made a noticeable progress when it comes to google visibility.
The website is developed by a certain company, who offered us an SEO solution when they developed our website, we declined that offer considering i was gonna take care of the SEO.
A couple of months back, i came across something rather interesting, that those developers didn't use H1 tags on ANY of the pages...
H1 would logically and normally go to the title of the product in a specific page, especially if that page is that  product's description.
I asked them to replace all <h4> tags with <h1> which they had to do, and that move made the website skyrocket and becoming even more google friendly.
The only thing is that i can't read the html code... i'm not a web developer/designer
Is there ANY way, any book i can buy, e-book i can download , anything i could read, that'll make me understand that code ?
I don't wanna create code, i wanna understand it , i wanna be able to read it...
I trust your expertise on this one =)
Thanks guys =)

#2 September 7 2011

Bassem

Re: HTML knowledge for SEO

Once you can read HTML, you can create HTML, so it's the same.

W3Schools is the best resource I can think of for learning HTML and various other web technologies.

Here is their main page for HTML. You can look at the Examples section to familiarise yourself, if you don't want to dig in too deep.